Rural Services APPG

Annual General Meeting All-Party Parliamentary Group on Rural Services

> Wednesday 7th July 2010, 16:30-17:00 Jubilee Room, HoC

> > **Meeting notes**

In attendance:

Graham Stuart MP Rory Stewart MP Duke of Montrose Lord Dear QPM Roger Williams MP Baroness Byford DBE Dr Therese Coffey MP Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP Lord Gardiner of Kimble

1. Apologies:

Rt Rev the Lord Bishop of Exeter, Rt Hon Sir Alan Haselhurst MP, Damian Collins MP, Steve Brine MP, Mark Spencer MP, Graham Evans MP, Hon Nicholas Soames MP

2. Membership:

Please see attached list.

3. Election of Officers:

The following members were elected to committee positions:

Chairman:	Graham Stuart MP
Vice-Chairmen:	Grahame Morris MP
	Dan Rogerson MP
	Lord Dear QPM
Treasurer:	Rory Stewart MP
Secretary:	Baroness Byford DBE

4. Review of the previous year.

How to take forward the inquiry into Health and Education funding formulae:

- Application for an adjournment debate .
- A balloted debate in the Lords (will need to be requested before 5th October).
- Circulate the report to other representative bodies for them to push with their engagement.
- Consider using Lord Wade's rural economy group.
- Broaden report into a factsheet focusing on the arguments in favour of defending all facets of rural services; to give rural communities "off the shelf" arguments against the closure of rural services. (Unfortunately a similar tactic cannot be used for the adjournment debate, as questions go to a particular minister).

5. Topics for future meetings.

Question of whether to focus on particularly "winnable" points (e.g. the funding report), or on broader arguments on the need for a review of more economically efficient services delivery models (or e.g. the 'State of the countryside' report). Perhaps advocate for a transition model, with the health and education formulae as a short term objective, but with wider rural services reform challenged over 4 years.

Key target departments/agendas for the Group should be:

- Treasury
- Defra
- Big Society

Should the group put together some common material which can be drawn on by Group members for contribution to various departmental debates? Careful coordination, good briefing and cross-party support can result in the APPG being an efficient pressure-group, using other organisations' research and materials. But getting caught up in specifics will be a hindrance; the Group should be a pressure group, but not single-issue.

Group could review the rural-proofing techniques of different departments and how they are ensuring that decentralisation agenda does not adversely affect rural areas. The Group should arrange meetings with the following ministers for October/November, or earlier if possible:

- SoS for Defra
 Rt Hon Caroline Spelman MP
- Minister for Agriculture Jim Paice MP
- Chief Sec to Treasury Rt Hon Danny Alexander MP

Actions:

- I. Graham Stuart's office to write to Ministers requesting meetings.
- II. RSN to follow up with ministerial offices and arrange meetings (preferably early morning).
- III. Further actions dependant on the outcome of these meetings, TBA by RSN.

6. Any other business.

As the CRC is to be abolished, the RSN will take over the secretariat of the Group. The Group thanked the CRC for all of their assistance over the past year.

Rural Services APPG Membership 2010:

Mr Nigel Adams MP (C) Mr Peter Aldous MP (C) Mr Richard Bacon MP (C) Mr Russell Brown MP (L) Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (LD) Mr Tom Blenkinsop MP (L) Mr Steve Brine MP (C) Mr Damian Collins MP (C) Mr Geoffrey Cox MP (C) Mr Tony Cunningham MP (L) Ms Nadine Dorries MP (C) Mr George Eustice MP (C) Mr Graham Evans MP (C) Mr Tim Farron MP (LD) Mr George Freeman MP (C) Mr Mark Garnier MP (C) Mr Andrew George MP (LD) Ms Helen Goodman MP (L) Mr James Gray MP (C) Rt Hon Sir Alan Haselhurst MP (C) Mr Christopher Heaton-Harris MP (C) Mr Damian Hinds MP (C) Mr Philip Hollobone MP (C) Mr Daniel Kawczynski MP (C) Mr Jeremy Lefroy MP (C) Mr Patrick Mercer OBE MP (C)

The Baroness Byford DBE (C) Rt Hon the Baroness Shephard of Northwold (C) His Grace the Duke of Montrose (C) The Lord Crathorne (C) The Lord Cameron of Dillington (CB) The Lord Dear QPM (CB) Lord Gardiner of Kimble (Con) The Baroness Gibson of Market Rasen OBE (L) The Lord Grantchester (L) The Lord Grantchester (L) The Baroness Maddock (LD) The Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer (LD) The Lord Tyler CBE (LD) Rt Hon the Lord Maclennan of Rogart (LD) Rt Rev the Lord Bishop of Exeter Rt Rev the Lord Bishop of Hereford Mr Grahame Morris MP (L) Mrs Tessa Munt MP (LD) Mrs Caroline Nokes MP (C) Mr Guy Opperman MP (C) Mr Neil Parish MP (C) Mrs Claire Perry MP (C) Mr Simon Reevell MP (C) Mr Dan Rogerson MP (LD) Mr David Ruffley MP (C) Mr Mark Simmonds MP (C) Ms Angela Smith MP (L) Hon Nicholas Soames MP (C) Mr Mark Spencer MP (C) Mr Rory Stewart MP (C) Mr Graham Stuart MP (C) Mr Julian Sturdy MP (C) Mr Andrew Tyrie MP (C) Mr Mike Weir MP (SNP) Mr Mark Williams MP (LD) Mr Roger Williams MP (LD) Mr John Woodcock MP (L) Mr Iain Wright MP (L) Mr Tim Yeo MP (C) Mr Nadhim Zahawi MP (C)