Rural Services APPG

All-Party Parliamentary Group on Rural Services 30th January 2018 at 6pm Room W2, Westminster Hall, House of Commons

EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING

PRESENT

Lord Cameron of Dillington
Dr David Drew MP (Stroud)
Philip Dunne MP (Ludlow)
Glyn Davies MP (Montgomeryshire)
Chris Davies MP (Brecon & Radnorshire)
Rebecca Pow MP (Taunton Deane)

In attendance

Graham Biggs (RSN), David Inman, (RSN), Cllr Cecilia Motley (Chair of RSN)

1. Appointment of Chairman.

Jo Churchill had been appointed a Government Whip in the recent reshuffle and accordingly could no longer chair the APPG.

It was agreed that Philip Dunne and Rebecca Pow would become Co-Chairs of the Group.

2. Future Work of the Group

- (A) Comment was made about the success of the Rural Vulnerability Day that had taken place on the 25th of January and how it was intended that this would be an annual occasion. Work like this, it was hoped, would take place in conjunction with a Group of rural MPs which was being sought to be put together looking at issues surrounding Rural Vulnerability.
- (B) It was hoped the APPG could establish a system of 'seasonal' meetings taking evidence with a view to establishing an Annual Report on a particular topic area possibly in the economic area.

The meeting finished at 6 12 p.m.