These authorities are members of the Sparse Rural group of the Rural Services Network.  We campaign on their behalf for fairer funding for rural areas and they receive a large range of services from us including performance and financial benchmarking analysis, an Observatory of rural statistics, e-newsletters providing information on rural issues and news stories, discounted access to our seminar programme and access to the APPG on rural services.
Sparse Rural membership results in all rural parishes, schools, and other appropriate organisations within that local authority area being offered free community membership of the RSN.


 Please note that if your Authority is a Sparse Rural member then automatically you will be part of the Rural Assembly

Please click on your local authority area to access your page

Predominantly Rural Authorities         Significant Rural Authorities
Significant Rural Members
Ashford Basingstoke and Deane
Bath and North East Somerset Bedford
Boston Broadland
Buckinghamshire Carlisle
Cherwell Cheshire West and Chester
Derbyshire East Hertfordshire
East Staffordshire East Sussex
Essex Gloucestershire
Hampshire Harrogate
Hinckley and Bosworth Kent
Lancashire Leicestershire
Mole Valley New Forest
Northamptonshire Nottinghamshire
Rugby Scarborough
Shepway South Derbyshire
South Staffordshire Stafford
Staffordshire Taunton Deane
Tunbridge Wells Warwickshire
Waveney West Berkshire
West Sussex Worcestshire
Wyre Forest  
Rural 80 Members
Allerdale Babergh
Breckland Chichester
Copeland Cornwall
Cotswold Craven
Daventry Derbyshire Dales
East Cambridgeshire East Lindsey
Eden Fenland
Forest Heath Forest of Dean
Hambleton Harborough
Huntingdonshire Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly Maldon
Melton Mendip
Mid Devon Mid Suffolk
Mid Sussex North Dorset
North Kesteven North Norfolk
Purbeck Ribble Valley
Richmondshire Rutland
Ryedale Selby
South Cambridgeshire South Hams
South Holland South Lakeland
South Norfolk South Northamptonshire
South Oxfordshire Stratford-on-Avon
Suffolk Coastal Teignbridge
Torridge Uttlesford
Wealden West Devon
West Dorset West Lindsey
West Oxfordshire West Somerset
Rural 50 Members
Aylesbury Vale Bassetlaw
Braintree Cambridgeshire
Central Bedfordshire Cheshire East
Cumbria Devon
Dorset Dover
Durham East Devon
East Dorset East Hampshire
East Northamptonshire East Riding of Yorkshire
Herefordshire High Peak
Horsham King's Lynn & West Norfolk
Lewes Lichfield
Lincolnshire Malvern Hills
Newark and Sherwood Norfolk
North Devon North Lincolnshire
North Somerset North Warwickshire
North West Leicestershire North Yorkshire
Northumberland Oxfordshire
Rother Rushcliffe
Sedgemoor Sevenoaks
Shropshire Somerset
South Kesteven South Somerset
St Edmundsbury Staffordshire Moorlands
Stroud Suffolk
Tandridge Test Valley
Tewkesbury Vale of White Horse
Waverley Wiltshire

Non members shown in red
To apply to become a member and/or to receive further information about membership click here