Thursday, 11 June 2015 18:46

Neil Parish to chair EFRA committee

Written by  Ruralcity Media
Neil Parish to chair EFRA committee

Devon MP Neil Parish has been elected chairman of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Select Committee.

Mr Parish, who represents the Tiverton and Honiton constituency, was the sole candidate nominated for the post.

The former West Country farmer said: "I am very pleased to have been nominated as chair of the EFRA committee.

"Over the past five years, I have enjoyed being a member of the committee and look forward to helping make sure that issues concerning our countryside, environment, flooding and food security are properly dealt with.

"I also look forward very much to working with parliamentary colleagues across the parties to contribute to shaping policy in those areas."

The EFRA committee examines the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) and its associated public bodies.

The committee chooses its own subjects of inquiry - which may last for several months or consist simply of a single day's oral evidence.

Mr Parish has a strong record as a rural campaigner within parliament - including on issues such as transport, broadband and a fairer deal for rural communities from the government.

He was Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS) to transport minister John Hayes - liaising with backbench MPs and attending ministerial meetings at the Department for Transport.

He has campaigned for superfast rural broadband since his election in 2010 and the issue featured in his maiden speech to the House of Commons.

Nominations for the election of Select Committee Chairs closed at 5pm on Wednesday 10 June.

Full results of the elections for all select committees will be announced on Thursday 18 June.

  • No comments found

Leave your comments

0 / 500 Character restriction
Your text should be in between 10-500 characters
terms and condition.