Sunday, 20 September 2015 20:35

Rural-proofing response 'this autumn'

A long-awaited response is expected this autumn to a major report examining the impact of government policies on rural communities.

Tuesday, 15 September 2015 19:30

Minister: More to be done on funding

MORE must be done to narrow the gap in spending power between rural and urban local authorities, the government has conceded.

Friday, 11 September 2015 09:38

MPs secure pledge on business rates

THE government has promised MPs it will take "full account" of the rural impact as it reviews business rates.

Monday, 10 August 2015 07:27

Rural discussion paper published

THE government has published a discussion paper examining the future of rural communities.

Thursday, 09 July 2015 11:51

MPs to scrutinise Defra on rural issues

TEN MPs have been appointed to a committee that will scrutinise the government's work on rural issues.

Monday, 15 June 2015 00:51

Defra mulls options on budget cuts

Defra minister George Eustice says his department is "considering the options" after being told to slash £83m in spending.

Thursday, 11 June 2015 18:46

Neil Parish to chair EFRA committee

Devon MP Neil Parish has been elected chairman of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Select Committee.

Monday, 01 June 2015 13:46

MPs voice fears for rural services

MPs returning to parliament after the general election have voiced concern for the future of rural services.

Monday, 11 May 2015 07:53

Government faces fairer funding call

The Rural Services Network will press the new government for a fairer deal for rural communities and local authorities.

Wednesday, 29 April 2015 08:37

Labour publishes rural manifesto

The Labour Party has unveiled a rural manifesto outlining its policy pledges for the countryside.

Tuesday, 21 April 2015 15:41

Lib Dems unveil 'Countryside Charter'

THE Liberal Democrats have set out a package of measures they claim will help rural communities thrive.

Monday, 20 April 2015 11:13

Political manifestos under scrutiny

PLEDGES made by the main political parties ahead of the general election are a mixed bag for rural communities, says the Rural Services Network.

Performance - module

Performance Benchmarking
For our latest Rural Performance Benchmarking analysis click here 

Our Events

Our Events
For Rural Services Network events and notable dates, click here.