Environment

Monday, 18 June 2012 07:08

Campaigners target roadside litter

RURAL campaigners have renewed calls to make it easier to fine people for littering from cars.

Monday, 14 May 2012 07:15

Rights-of-way rules to be revised

PROPOSALS to modernise the process of recording rights of way have been unveiled by the government.

Monday, 02 April 2012 08:16

Revealed: Quality of our rural life

BRITAIN'S best 50 places to live are highlighted in a survey of rural areas with the best quality of life.

Friday, 24 February 2012 23:28

Call to protect rural cyclists

MPs have called on the government to help protect rural cyclists by improving road safety.

Monday, 06 February 2012 00:05

Maps show countryside 'at risk'

MORE than half of England's countryside is at risk from proposals to reform the planning system, claim campaigners.

Wednesday, 11 January 2012 08:39

Campaigners demand HS2 changes

RURAL campaigners want further changes to the government's plans for a high-speed rail link between London and Birmingham.

Thursday, 22 December 2011 16:08

MPs criticise planning framework

SIGNIFICANT changes must be made to the government's draft planning framework, MPs have warned.

Monday, 12 December 2011 10:40

Call for clampdown on metal theft

RURAL businesses have thrown their weight behind a parliamentary bid to thwart the sale of stolen metal.

Thursday, 03 November 2011 12:01

Local authorities recycle more waste

RURAL local authorities are among those with the highest recycling rates, according to the latest government figures.

Thursday, 20 October 2011 19:50

Coalition 'committed to Green Belt'

PRESSURE to build on Green Belt land will be removed with the revocation of regional plans, claims the government.

Thursday, 22 September 2011 12:50

Rural groups disagree on planning

GOVERNMENT plans to shake up planning rules have met a different response from rural lobby groups.

Tuesday, 06 September 2011 19:34

Fly-tipping costs £40m a year

ILLEGAL fly-tipping costs taxpayers more than £40m last year, according to new figures.