Environment

Wednesday, 17 June 2015 22:20

National Parks 'worth £20bn to economy'

England's National Parks and Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty contribute more than £20bn each year to the economy, says a report.

Friday, 12 June 2015 08:26

Building soars on greenbelt land

The number of new homes being approved on greenbelt land in England has increased five-fold in five years.

Thursday, 21 May 2015 18:04

Rural drivers take evasive action

MOTORISTS are being urged to slow down on rural roads after a survey revealed the extent of risky, aggressive overtaking.

Friday, 10 April 2015 21:59

'Worst case' of rural fly-tipping

ONE of the worst cases of rural fly-tipping has seen up to 40 tonnes of industrial waste dumped in a country lane.

Wednesday, 08 April 2015 07:46

Guide helps to prevent rural floods

A FREE guide to help rural communities protect themselves from flooding has been launched.

Friday, 14 November 2014 15:14

£2m scheme boosts rights of way

A £2m intiative has helped create and save more than 183km of public rights of way.

Monday, 03 November 2014 10:21

Big increase in fly-tipping incidents

INCIDENTS of illegally dumped waste increased by 20% on public land last year, suggest the latest statistics.

Wednesday, 24 September 2014 08:55

Councils urged to ban sky lanterns

RURAL business leaders are calling on local authorities to ban sky lanterns.

Friday, 29 August 2014 21:33

£30m project to reduce flood risk

MORE than 1,400 properties are to benefit as work begins on a coastal flood defence scheme in south-east England.

Friday, 15 August 2014 22:27

Unveiled: £200m brownfield site plan

A £200m government fund aims to protect the countryside from development by making it easier to build on brownfield sites.

Friday, 27 June 2014 19:44

Minister backs flood alleviation work

RURAL affairs secretary Owen Paterson visited Wiltshire to reaffirm the government's support for local efforst to improve flood alleviation.

Monday, 14 April 2014 12:56

Coastal path 'will boost economies'

TOURISM and local communities will benefit from two newly opened stretches of the England Coast Path, says the government.


Performance - module

Performance Benchmarking
For our latest Rural Performance Benchmarking analysis click here 
 


Our Events

Our Events
For Rural Services Network events and notable dates, click here.