Environment

Thursday, 20 April 2017 10:54

Don't punish diesel drivers - rural MP

The government must not punish motorists who drive diesel vehicles, a prominent rural MP has warned.

Wednesday, 19 April 2017 11:06

'Missed chance' to tackle fly-tipping

Government plans to tackle the scourge of fly-tipping are a missed opportunity, rural leaders have warned.

Monday, 10 April 2017 14:25

Government crackdown on fly-tippers

Fly-tippers could be forced to help councils clear-up illegally dumped waste in a new drive to clean up the countryside.

Sunday, 05 March 2017 14:07

Call for new approach to rural land use

CAMPAIGNERS have called for a more strategic approach to rural land use and the countryside.

Thursday, 02 March 2017 11:28

Rural fly-tipping incidents on the rise

Fly-tipping incidents are on the rise – with more rubbish being illegally dumped in rural areas.

Friday, 10 February 2017 11:48

Extra £2.5m to improve rural roads

An additional £2m is to be invested to improve the surface of rural roads in Devon.

Wednesday, 04 January 2017 19:12

War against fly-tippers 'must continue'

Rural leaders are urging local councils to continue a pre-Christmas crackdown against fly-tipping.

Friday, 09 December 2016 07:44

Crackdown against brazen fly-tippers

Councils are using new powers to crush vehicles belonging to fly-tippers who illegally dump rubbish in the countryside.

Wednesday, 09 November 2016 09:48

National Park beats tourism target

RURAL tourism is thriving in north-east England, reveals a new report commissioned by Northumberland National Park Authority.

Thursday, 20 October 2016 13:53

New action plan to tackle fly-tipping

THE rising cost of clearing up fly-tipped rubbish is putting pressure on local authorities struggling with funding problems.

Thursday, 06 October 2016 07:28

Cities can ease pressure on countryside

MORE attractive towns and cities would ease development pressure on the countryside, say rural campaigners.

Monday, 26 September 2016 04:20

Zero tolerance approach to fly-tipping

A zero approach to fly-tipping has been announced by rural organisations and public bodies in Hampshire.