Community

Thursday, 21 September 2017 21:27

Rural group speaks out on housing

A focus on meeting market demand is failing to provide homes people need, say rural campaigners.

Wednesday, 20 September 2017 20:43

£23m for neighbourhood plans

Almost £23m in funding aims to give local communities more say in the development of their area.

Monday, 04 September 2017 15:47

'Locals should design rural homes'

Involving local residents in housing design could increase support for rural affordable homes, say campaigners.

Friday, 25 August 2017 18:21

Inn Crowd project boosts rural pubs

An arts-based scheme is helping put local pubs back at the heart of rural communities.

Wednesday, 23 August 2017 17:49

Charity calls for rural driving lessons

Learner drivers should receive compulsory lessons on rural roads to reduce fatalities, say safety campaigners.

Monday, 21 August 2017 14:54

Big rise in second home ownership

More people now own a second home, including in rural and coastal areas, says a report.

Friday, 18 August 2017 14:35

Rural crime tops commissioner's agenda

Rural crime topped the agenda during a visit by Derbyshire Police and Crime Commissioner Hardyal Dhindsa.

Monday, 14 August 2017 11:26

Sharp rise in cost of rural crime

THE cost of rural theft has risen sharply in the first half of 2017 – despite a 4% drop last year.

Wednesday, 09 August 2017 10:34

Grants to support rural communities

A CHARITY established by Prince Charles has unveiled over £540,000 of grants to 18 new rural projects.

Friday, 21 July 2017 15:38

Calor Community Fund winners revealed

Energy company Calor has announced the winners of its Rural Community Fund to help improve local life.

Thursday, 20 July 2017 11:05

Researchers focus on rural well-being

Researchers are keen to hear from people about their experiences of well-being and the countryside.

Monday, 17 July 2017 14:47

Call for Heritage Action Zone bids

A Heritage Action Zone initiative from Historic England is appealing for applications.