Community

Thursday, 16 November 2017 20:17

Chancellor urged to keep pubs afloat

MPs have called on the Government for a Budget they say would help keep pubs rural in business.

Monday, 13 November 2017 07:22

Decline in services threatens rural life

Rural life is in decline because countryside pubs, schools and post offices are closing, says a report.

Friday, 10 November 2017 22:52

Residents urged to build own homes

RURAL communities are being encouraged to take the lead on developing affordable homes in Northumberland.

Tuesday, 07 November 2017 21:08

Prince's fund to help family farms

Farmers increasingly rely on outside income to make a living, warns a rural fund founded by Prince Charles.

Sunday, 05 November 2017 20:48

Commission seeks to improve rural life

AN independent high-profile commission aims to improve life for rural communities after the UK leaves the European Union.

Thursday, 02 November 2017 20:13

Project seeks to reduce rural flood risk

A £1.2m project aims to trail low-cost ways to reduce the risk of flash floods in rural communities.

Tuesday, 17 October 2017 06:33

Rural housing hub project launched

A NEW initiative aims to help rural communities develop and manage their own housing project.

Friday, 13 October 2017 20:16

Royal encouragement for rural homes

The Princess Royal will deliver a keynote speech on affordable rural housing at a national landowner conference.

Sunday, 01 October 2017 20:24

Rural homes '20% more expensive'

Buying a house in the countryside costs 20% than it does in a town or city, according to the latest figures.

Tuesday, 26 September 2017 06:28

Need rises for affordable rural homes

The need for more affordable rural homes continues to rise, the Rural Services Network has warned.

Thursday, 21 September 2017 21:27

Rural group speaks out on housing

A focus on meeting market demand is failing to provide homes people need, say rural campaigners.

Wednesday, 20 September 2017 20:43

£23m for neighbourhood plans

Almost £23m in funding aims to give local communities more say in the development of their area.